Creativity Unplugged

9 Jul

So I disappeared there for a few weeks, a sort of virtual holiday in ways brought on by the unexpected explosion of my trusty laptop and its motherboard about three weeks ago. Like losing your cell phone, being without a laptop was a shock to my on-line system and once the scramble to retrieve data from back-up systems was completed I breathed a sigh of relief and decided to unplug myself for a few weeks to de-technolog-ize myself, if you will!

Without my laptop, I realised how much time I spent glued to it – writing, browsing, tweeting, blogging, designing, tumbling, viewing……I never went anywhere without it. So how did I manage?

– I read books – ‘New York’ by Edward Rutherford and ‘Think and Grow Rich’ (again!)

– I watched close to 30 DVD’s – old classics, much loved stories and a few new ones people recommended – the last one I watched was The Piano, others included Schindler’s List, Pride & Prejudice, Mean Streets, Atonement, Casablanca, Sabrina, Magnolia, Avatar, Dog Day Afternoon ……it’s amazing what friends have tucked away in their cupboards that you can borrow!

– I bought newspapers and read them with my morning coffee and carried them with me throughout the day – I felt very twee, holding a newspaper instead of reading on-line on my laptop or iphone.

– I bought a drawing notebook and teased out further structure options for my book, working in colours and story maps, scrunching up papers and tossing them over my shoulder and starting again. ‘Delete’ not an option in hard copy and I had forgot the joy and creativity of that!

– I visited friends and talked, drank tea, drank wine and even went to an outdoor gig in my wellies and raincoat!

But now I am back, well almost – my new laptop arrives later this week and I will be back to my usual routine following my joyful hiatus – hope I didn;t miss much!!

NMG.C

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Creativity Unplugged”

  1. Jennifer Stuart July 9, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I just lost my iPhone last night and I felt like a horrible person! That icloud thing turned out to be useful though, since I could locate it and figured out where I had dropped it, I could remotely lock it, and hopefully my friend grabs it for me before a car runs it over. It did make me realize that life is great without these devices, and if I didn’t have to work on my laptop, I would use it much less! It was nice to feel cut loose from the tie of the phone for awhile. I just hope it comes back safe so that I don’t have to buy a new one and be cut loose from my tie to buying-groceries 🙂

  2. mskatykins July 9, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Great to have you back, Nic! I actually that time away from the net can do you good. I have been reading lots online but not in book form and that’s a real shame, you know? So sometimes it can be great just to get a new perspective and to work in a different format. It sounds like it’s been good for you! Having said that, it’s nice to have you back! 🙂

    • mskatykins July 10, 2012 at 7:11 am #

      PS I meant to say that ‘Sabrina’ and ‘Dog Day Afternoon’ are such great films. You know the Pacino one is based on truth? That makes it so poignant.

      • What's it All About and Other Stories July 10, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

        Love Pacino, he’s so emotive to watch, they don’t make movies like the old days anymore- do you have any suggestions??

    • What's it All About and Other Stories July 10, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks Katie – been an interesting few weeks, think we all need that sometimes!! Hope the book reading is going well:)

  3. Jennifer July 9, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    A technology-less holiday is good for the soul! But how quickly we slip back into our old ways. 🙂

  4. bornattwentyfive July 9, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Sorry about your laptop! That happened to me a couple of months ago. I was devastated!

  5. robincoyle July 10, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    How nice to have you back!

Leave a Reply

